Skip to content

new ways to patternmake :: Julian Roberts ‘Subtraction Cutting’

July 14, 2010

Timo Rissanen is my saviour. After contemplating not finishing my major work and running away to the lovely island of Bali, I took a breath, sat down and jumped onto Timo’s blog. Lucky for me Timo is one step ahead in the ways of new techniques. Unlucky for me he’s in New York. At least he can put his thoughts (and actions) to the lovely place we can all visit. The Internet.

SO after scrolling through, I saw his post on Julian Roberts patternmaking technique ‘Subtraction Cutting’, and got to see some lovely images of a course Timo took with Julian. I loved the idea and decided to explore. This led me to Julians’ website SUB_CUTS and eventually onto buying his ‘book’ (lets say it is a coil bound version of some digital website somewhere with mini hand drawings and explanations. None the less it’s the only way to learn without a face-to-face meeting).

And so my exploration began. And of course, I tried to experiment with Zero Fabric Waste Creation too. Why not hey?

layout of subtraction tunnel technique 1

side view of subtraction tunnel technique 1

birds eye view of subtraction tunnel technique 1

Playing around with tunnels and holes and stitching the whole thing together… could be promising with some more experimentation. I’m wanting a more structured look (soft-structure) compared to the layers of draping that you get with this technique using jerseys.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. August 23, 2010 12:17 PM

    this looks great! :) jx

    • August 28, 2010 1:42 PM

      Thanks so much. Ill post online my final collection when it’s done! I read your book and have created some designs from the ideas of your patternmaking techniques. I’m a student of Timo’s from UTS Sydney (before he left for NYC)… would have loved if he was here now to help! Zero Waste Fabric Creation along with subtraction patternmaking is not as easy as it looks ;) haha

  2. September 2, 2010 5:02 AM

    i’ll hopefully come to Australia and New Zealand to cut some time in the very near future..
    Best of luck!
    jx

  3. Brenda permalink
    December 17, 2010 9:02 PM

    Hi I am wanting to know if you will be coming to New Zealand before or after your workshops in Austraila in Feb 2011, if so when and where, I have a group wanting to attend, many thanks

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

